Skip to content

Little League Memories

June 28, 2010

I’ve always said, my favorite part of playing softball as a kid was the snacks we would get after the game. The sugary drinks and cake-like desserts were celebrated the same way every time, regardless of whether we had won or lost the game. Do you remember when winning wasn’t the only thing that mattered?

I watched the most amazing game ever this past weekend – my nine year old nephew’s All-Star debut. It’s hot here in DC….HOT (not so much like the Nats record these days….) and these boys still gave it their all. Out of the 3 big catches during the very long, very hot game – 2 were made by my future hall-of-famer himself out in center field (sorry, proud aunt Kat Kat reserves all bragging rights.)

If you’ve ever played little league, I’m sure you remember the polyester pants and uncomfortable ball caps you were forced to wear in the middle of summer? It hasn’t changed…..although the team they played donned the same sleeveless type of shirts I’ve seen the Rockies wear. These boys were melting, emotionally and physically, but as soon as a good play was made or they got a good hit, they perked right back up. And of course, whether they struck out or made a fielding error, we were all there rooting for them reminding them to “shake it off” and screaming “good job” as loud as we could (well, I sure wasn’t screaming, it was my sister doing all the screaming. But she did the same for me when I was a little round 9/10/11/12 year old trying to run the bases in softball…and I’m still thankful to this day.) These stories make my eyes swell with tears!

I’m sure you also remember the emotions that come and go when you are nine years old and your entire family is there to see you play.  It was a day of ups and downs for my nephew as well.  Even after a few big catches and great base hits, the other team ended up winning 17-14 in 6 innings. Anyway, tonight is game three out of four. Hopefully the lessons they learn from this time in their life…before they hit high school and before they start thinking about college…is that it’s about the friends you make and the fun you have along the way and the memories you create for yourself as you grow older (ok…..THERE’S NO CRYING IN BASEBALL!!!!)

Anyway, here’s to you Connor and your team as you take the field tonight!! Life is MUCH better with baseball!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristi permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:52 pm

    That is just too Awesome!! Connor will love this when he is older and can really appreciate it (not that he doesn’t now). Great job Kathy! Love you guys!!!

    • July 20, 2010 1:16 am

      Thanks Kristi, I haven’t seen you on forever, I hope u r well!

Leave a Reply

