Skip to content

The Ace in the Hole

September 15, 2010

Nats town is A-BUZZZZZZ over last night’s game against the Braves, where we witnessed Dunn’s 480,000 foot long home run as well as Livo’s absolutely stellar game, which included a RBI double and a home run by the man himself.  

After closing my eyes from a melatonin-induced coma in the top of the 9th, I was rudely awesomely awoken by my boyfriend with the chants of “WE WON!”  I immediately thought to myself, I can’t wait to read about this game in the morning.  

Of course the obvious mentions are all over the place this morning as I said above.  I was too sleepy to hear that Sean Burnett came in late in the game, so reading the highlights, one thing really caught my eye.   

Sean Burnett has seven (7) straight scoreless outings!!! Where did this come from!? Well, I’ll admit, I was skeptical of the kid earlier this season, as a lot of Nats fans were I’m sure – but I’d say he finally deserves some credit. So here’s to our quiet but up and coming ace in the hole, Sean Burnett!!!!  (chants of, Let’s hear it for the booooy” immediately come to mind….)   

(Photo by Greg Fiume/Getty Images)

 

   

Newsworthy UPDATE:  After posting, I found this on ESPN, The Washington NationalsAdam Dunn hit a 479-foot home run Tuesday at Atlanta — the third longest HR this season behind Josh Hamilton (485 feet on June 27) and Colby Rasmus (483 feet, also on June 27). Dunn owns the third- and fifth-longest home runs of the season. Interestingly enough, the five longest home runs this season have all been hit by left-handed batters.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

